Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Charlotte Roche In Conversation With Susan Cole At TINARS

Share |
Charlotte Roche In Conversation With Susan Cole At TINARS
When

Thursday, April 23, 2009 - 7:00pm

Where

Details

With sales of more than 1.1 million copies in Germany (in just seven months, and rights sold in over 26 countries, Wetlands (HarperCollins Canada) by Charlotte Roche is clearly poised to be one of the most widely read novels in Canada this spring. It is already the focus of a heated debate in countless Internet chat rooms. Is Wetlands an incisive, lighthearted, ultimately empowering tale of a young woman’s emancipation? Or is it rightly denounced as a ‘masturbation pamphlet,’ yet another demeaning work of porn masquerading as new feminist literature? Charlotte Roche will discuss this controversy with NOW Magazine Senior Entertainment Editor Susan Cole. There will be a Q&A session with the audience. Marc Glassman, Executive Director of This Is Not A Reading Series and Proprietor of Pages Books & Magazines will host the evening. A This Is Not A Reading Series event presented by Pages Books & Magazines, HarperCollins Canada, NOW Magazine, and Take Five On CIUT. Doors 7:30pm. $5 (free with book purchase).

WETLANDS An international sensation—with more than 1 million copies sold in Germany, and rights snapped up in 26 countries—Wetlands is the sexually and anatomically explicit novel that is changing the conversation about female identity and sexuality around the world.

Helen Memel is an outspoken, contradictory eighteen-year-old, whose childlike stubbornness is offset by a precocious sexual confidence. She begins her story from a hospital bed, where she’s slowly recovering from an operation and lamenting her parents’ divorce. To distract and console herself, Helen ruminates on her past sexual and physical adventures in increasingly uncomfortable detail; what ensues is “a headlong dash through every crevice and byproduct, physical and psychological, of its narrator’s body and mind.” (The New York Times)

Fantastically sexual, Helen is constantly blurring the line between celebration, provocation, and dysfunction in her relationship with her body. Punky alienated teenager, young woman reclaiming her body from the tyranny of repressive hygiene (women mustn’t smell, excrete, desire), bratty smartass, vulnerable, lonely daughter, shock merchant and pleasure-seeker—Helen is all of these things and more, and her frequent attempts to assert her maturity ultimately prove just how fragile, confused, and young she truly is.

In the tradition of The Sexual Life of Catherine M and Melissa P.’s 100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed, author Charlotte Roche exposes the double bind of female sexuality, delivering a compulsively readable and fearlessly intimate manifesto on sex, hygiene, and the repercussions of family trauma.

CHARLOTTE ROCHE was born in High Wycombe, England, and moved to Germany at the age of 8. She has worked as a presenter on Viva (the German equivalent of MTV), and wrote and presented programmes and late-night talk shows for Arte and ZDF. She won the Grimme Prize for television in 2004. She lives in Germany with her husband and daughter. Wetlands (published in 2008 in German under the title Feuchtgebiete) is her first book.

SUSAN COLE is an author, playwright and Senior Entertainment Editor at NOW Magazine. Cole debated daily with right-wing Christian ideologue Michael Coren on CFRB's talk radio, and makes frequent TV appearances, especially on TVO's Studio 2 program and WTN's Smart Women's panel. She is the author of Pornography and The Sex Crisis, and, A Fertile Imagination. Cole is also a regular contributor to Herizons magazine.

Location

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications

Dundurn

Open Book App Ad