Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Arthur Ellis Award Winners Announced

Share |

At the annual Arthur Ellis Dinner this evening, Crime Writers of Canada announced the winners of the Arthur Ellis Awards for the best crime writing in 2010. Congratulations to the winners!

From our friends at Crime Writers of Canada:

Thursday night, May 27, the winners of the Arthur Ellis Awards were announced at a gala held at Mysteriously Yours Dinner Theatre, Toronto. The Arthur Ellis Awards were named after the pseudonym of Canada’s last hangman.

The winners were chosen from a superb collection of writers and the decisions were not easy. “It’s a huge honour to win this award,” said Howard Shrier, whose novel, High Chicago, was chosen for Best Novel. Peter Robinson, who was the recipient of the prestigious Derrick Murdoch Award, Crime Writers of Canada’s Presidential prize for outstanding contributions to crime writing, said, “It’s a great honour to receive the Derrick Murdoch Award. So many fine people connected with Canadian crime writing over the years have been given it, and I’m honoured to be in such august company. But if it gives anyone the least idea that it’s the culmination of anything, forget it! I’m not packing it in yet.”

The 2010 Arthur Ellis Award Winners are:

Best Short Story – DENNIS RICHARD MURPHY, "Prisoner in Paradise," Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine

Best Non-Fiction – TERRY GOULD, Murder Without Borders, Random House of Canada

Best Juvenile – BARBARA HAWORTH-ATTARD, Haunted, HarperCollins

Best Crime Writing in French – JEAN LEMIEUX, Le mort du chemin des Arsene, La courte échelle

Best Unpublished First Crime Novel – GLORIA FERRIS, The Corpse Flower

Best First Novel – ALAN BRADLEY, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, Doubleday Canada

Best Novel – HOWARD SHRIER, High Chicago, Random House of Canada

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad