Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Arthur Ellis Award Shortlists Announced

Share |

Crime Writers of Canada have announced the finalists for the Arthur Ellis Awards, which celebrate "the best in crime and mystery writing across the country."

From our friends at Crime Writers of Canada:

[On April 21st], the shortlist nominees for the Arthur Ellis Awards were announced in venues across Canada. These nominees will vie for the top awards in mystery and crime writing in six categories. The winners will be announced at the annual Arthur Ellis Dinner on May 27, 2010, in Toronto.

The finalists were chosen from a myriad of entrants and the decision was not easy. “It’s always a difficult choice,” said Melodie Campbell, Administrative Coordinator for Crime Writers of Canada. “We have many talented Canadian writers in this genre.” The categories are Best Novel, Best First Novel, Best Unpublished Novel (or “Unhanged Arthur”), Best Juvenile, Best Crime Writing in French, and Best Short Story. “Winning the Unhanged Arthur [2008] directly resulted in my obtaining an agent, which led to a three book contract,” Dorothy McIntosh told the crowd in Toronto. The Arthur Ellis Awards were named after Canada’s hangman pseudonym.

Peter Robinson, one of the most prominent Canadian crime writers, will also be honoured at this year’s Arthur Ellis Dinner. He is the recipient of the prestigious Derrick Murdoch Award, the Crime Writers of Canada’s Presidential prize for outstanding contributions to crime writing.

The Shortlists

Best Crime Novel
Anthony Bidulka, Aloha, Candy Hearts (Insomniac Press)
R.J. Harlick, Arctic Blue Death (Napoleon & Company)
Lee Lamothe, Finger’s Twist (Turnstone Press)
James W. Nichol, Death Spiral (McArthur)
Howard Schrier, High Chicago (Random House of Canada)

Best First Novel
Alan Bradley, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie(Doubleday Canada)
Elizabeth Duncan, The Cold Light of Mourning (Minotaur Books, St Martin’s Press)
C.B. Forrest, Weight of Stones (Napoleon & Company)
Eugene Meese, A Magpie’s Smile (NeWest Press)
Dennis Richard Murphy, Darkness at the Break of Noon (HarperCollins)

Best French Language Crime Novel
Genevieve Lefebvre, Je compte les mort (Groupe Librex)
Jean Lemieux, Le mort du chemin des Arsène (la courte échelle)
Jean-Jacques Pelletier, La Faim de la Terre, volumes 1 & 2 (Éditions Alire Inc.)
Diane Vincent, Peaux de chagrins (Les Editions Triptyques)

Best Juvenile Crime Novel
Vicki Grant, Not suitable for Family Viewing (HarperCollins)
Barbara Haworth-Attard, Haunted (HarperCollins)
Norah McClintock, Homicide Related: A Ryan Dooley
(Red Deer Press)
Arthur Slade, The Hunchback Assignments (HarperCollins)
Tim Wynne-Jones, The Uninvited (Candlewick, RHC)

Best Crime Nonfiction
Patrick Brode, The Slasher Killings (Painted Turtle Press)
Alex Caine, The Fat Mexican (Random House of Canada)
Terry Gould, Murder Without Borders (Random House of Canada)
Robert Remington and Sherri Zickefoose, Runaway Devil (McClelland & Stewart)
Jon Wells, Post-Mortem (John Wiley & Sons)

Best Crime Short Story
Rick Mofina, "Backup," Ottawa Magazine
Dennis Richard Murphy, "Prisoner in Paradise," Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine
James Petrin, "Nothing is Easy," Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine
Twist Phelan, "Time Will Tell," MWA Presents the Prosecution Rests (Little Brown)
James Powell, "Clowntown Pajamas," Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

Best First Unpublished Crime Novel
Blair Hesmstock, A Bait of Pleasure
Deryn Collier, Confined Space
Ferris Gloria, Corpse Flower
Peter Kirby, Putting Them Down
Pam Barnsley, This Cage of Bones

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad