Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

The CBC Bookies Winners Revealed

Share |
The CBC Bookies Winners Revealed

CBC Books has just announced the winners of their first-ever book club awards, the Bookies. The contest, which celebrates some of the strongest Canadian literature published in the last year, was decided by a reader-generated nomination and voting system. Winners receive a “Golden Beaver” as recognition, in addition to bragging rights.

After much anticipation, the winners of the 2011 CBC Bookies are...

* Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Book: Darwin’s Bastards edited by Zsuzsi Gartner
* Best Thriller, Mystery or Horror Book: Revenge of the Lobster Lover by Hilary MacLeod
* Best Romance Book: Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
* Best Young Adult Book: Dear George Clooney, Please Marry My Mom by Susin Nielsen
* Best Poetry Collection: Indexical Elegies by Jon Paul Fiorentino
* Best Short Story Collection: Greedy Little Eyes by Billie Livingston
* Best Comic or Graphic Novel: Tangles by Sarah Leavitt
* Best Non-Fiction Book: One Bird’s Choice by Iain Reid
* Best Character: Nanabush from Motorcycles and Sweetgrass by Drew Hayden Taylor
* Best Relationship: Henry and L from L (and things come apart) by Ian Orti
* Best Scene: Jack’s escape in Room by Emma Donoghue
* Best Book Cover: Kiss the Joy as it Flies by Sheree Fitch
* Best Overall Book: The Tiger by John Vaillant
* Best Opening Line: Room by Emma Donoghue
* Best Book-based Movie: The King’s Speech
* Best New Writer: Sarah Selecky

Click here to read more on the winners of the Bookies.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad