Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Regional Shortlists Announced

Share |
The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Regional Shortlists Announced

The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, supported by the Macquarie Group Foundation and now in its 25th year, has selected both household names and other emerging stars from across the Commonwealth for the four regional shortlists for the Best Book and Best First Book awards.

Established in 1987, the prize aims to recognise the best fiction by both established and new writers from Commonwealth countries, ensure these works reach a wider audience outside their countries of origin, and encourage dialogue and understanding of different cultures through reading.

Each year, prizes for Best Book and Best First Book are awarded in four regions: Africa, Caribbean and Canada, South Asia and Europe and South East Asia and Pacific. Eight regional winners then compete for the pan-Commonwealth Best Book and Best First Book prizes, of £10,000 and £5,000, awarded at a public programme held in a different Commonwealth country each year.

The regional winners of the Best Book and Best First Book prizes will be announced on March 3rd, with the final programme commencing on May 16th at Sydney Writers’ Festival in Australia. This will bring together the finalists from the four different regions of the Commonwealth, and the two overall winners will be announced on the 21st May.

Canadian titles for Best Book include The Sky is Falling by Caroline Adderson, Room by Emma Donahue, and The Master of Happy Endings by Jack Hodgins. Canadian titles for Best First Book include Bird Eat Bird by Katrina Best, Light Lifting by Alexander MacLeod, and The Cake is for the Party by Sarah Selecky.

For a full list of all shortlisted titles both in Canada and across the Commonwealth, visit the website here.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad