Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Gene Day Award Nominees and Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Share |

The Joe Shuster Awards have announced the nominees for the Gene Day Award and six inductees to the Canadian Comic Hall of Fame.

The Gene Day Award for Canadian Self-Publishing "honours Canadian comic book creators or creative teams who self-published their work during the previous calendar year" and "who wrote and/or illustrated a comic book of their own creation… which they published and sold independently…." The winner of the Gene Day Award receives a $500 bursary. The nominees are Adam Bourret for I'm Crazy, Evan Munday for Quarter-Life Crisis: Only the Good Die Yung, Ethan Rilly for Pope Hats 1, Benjamin Rivers for Snow 2 and Tory Woolcott for Mirror Mind.

2010 marks the 35th anniversary of Captain Canuck #1, and co-creator and writer/artist/publisher Richard Comely, artist George Freeman and artist Claude St. Aubin are being inducted into the Canadian Comic Hall of Fame for their "many contributions to the Canadian comics community since the 1970s (not just for Captain Canuck)." Cartoonist and animator Serge Gaboury, publisher Deni Loubert and writer and retailer Dave Darrigo have also been selected for the Canadian Comic Hall of Fame for their "long and varied contributions to comics and comic book publishing in Canada."

For more information, go to the Joe Shuster Awards website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad