Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist Announced

Share |

The shortlist for the Canadian and International Griffin Poetry Prize was announced today by The Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry. The Trust “was created to serve and encourage poetry written in English anywhere in the world.” The shortlist of seven books was selected by judges George Bowering, James Lasdun and Pura López Colomé from 509 books submitted. The seven finalists will be invited to read in Toronto on June 3. The two winners of the Griffin Poetry Prize will be announced on June 4 at the eighth annual Griffin Poetry Prize Awards Evening. Each winner will receive $50,000.

Canadian Shortlist

International Shortlist

  • Notes from the Air: Selected Later Poems (HarperCollins Publishers/Ecco), by John Ashbery
  • Ripple Effect: New and Selected Poems (Coffee House Press), by Elaine Equi
  • The Complete Poetry: A Bilingual Edition (University of California Press), translated from the Spanish by Clayton Eshleman, written by César Vallejo
  • Selected Poems 1969-2005 (Faber and Faber), by David Harsent

House of Anansi Press publishes a Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology annually. The royalties from the anthology are donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day. Go to the House of Anansi Press website to find out about past anthologies.

Read about The Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry at the orgazation's website. Click here to read more about the shortlist for this year's Griffin Poetry Prize.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad