Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Iconic Canadian Writer Farley Mowat Passes Away at Age 92

Share |
Farley Mowat

Farley Mowat, one of Canada's most beloved and successful authors, passed away on May 6, 2014 after an acclaimed writing life that included the Stephen Leacock Award, the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal, the Order of Canada, a Gemini Award, a Star on Canada's Walk of Fame and many more honours. He sold over 17 million copies of his books during his lifetime, including Never Cry Wolf (McClelland & Stewart), which was adapted into a feature film, and the children's book Lost in the Barrens (also published by McClelland & Stewart, where he would enjoy a life-long publishing relationship), which won the Governor General's Literary Award.

During World War II, Mowat served as a platoon commander, intelligence officer and, later, as a captain. He published his first book, People of the Deer in 1952. A lifelong environmentalist and wilderness enthusiast, Mowat's books often focused on natural settings and themes.

The Globe & Mail ran an extended obituary celebrating Mowat's life and achievements, a must-read for fans of Mowat and Canadian literature.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications

Dundurn

Open Book App Ad