Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

League of Canadian Poets Announces Annual Poetry Prizes - Spoken Word, First Books & More

Share |
LCP awards shortlist 2016

The League of Canadian Poets has announced the shortlists for the Raymond Souster Award, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award and the winner of the Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award.

Raymond Souster Award Shortlist 2016

  • The Wrong Cat by Lorna Crozier (McClelland & Stewart)
  • The Pemmican Eaters by Marilyn Dumont (ECW Press)
  • The Poison Colour by Maureen Hynes (Pedlar Press)
  • Standard Candles by Alice Major (University of Alberta Press)
  • The Arrow of Time by Bruce Meyer (Ronsdale Press)
  • The Thunderbird Poems by Armand Ruffo (Harbour Publishing)
  • The Raymond Souster Award is given for a book of poetry by a League of Canadian Poets member (all levels) published in the preceding year. The award honours Raymond Souster, an early founder of the League of Canadian Poets. The award carries a $1,000 prize. This year's jury members are Jenna Butler, Wendy Morton, and Charles Mountford.

    Pat Lowther Memorial Award Shortlist 2014

  • The Wrong Cat by Lorna Crozier (McClelland & Stewart)
  • calling down the sky by Rosanna Deerchild (Bookland Press)
  • Terra Incognita by Adebe DeRango-Adem (INNANA Publications and Education Inc.)
  • The Poison Colour by Maureen Hynes (Pedlar Press)
  • Marry & Burn by Rachel Rose (Harbour Publishing)
  • Trio by Sarah Tolmie (McGill-Queen’s University Press)
  • The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is given for a book of poetry by a Canadian woman published in the preceding year, and is in memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. The award carries a $1,000 prize and is sponsored by the League of Canadian Poets. This year's jurors are Judith Neale, Vanessa Shields, and Joan Shillington.

    Gerald Lampert Memorial Award Shortlist 2014

  • Rue by Melissa Bull (Anvil Press)
  • Laws & Locks by Chad Campbell (Véhicule Press)
  • Transmitter and Receiver by Raoul Fernandes (Nightwood Editions)
  • Otter by Ben Ladouceur (Coach House Books)
  • Hacker Packer by Cassidy McFadzean (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Mockingbird by Derek Webster (Véhicule Press)
  • The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers.

    The award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year. The award carries a $1,000 prize and is sponsored by the League of Canadian Poets. This year's jurors are Jim Johnstone, Micheline Maylor, and Dwayne Morgan.

    The winners will be announced on Saturday, June 18 at a special awards luncheon at the Canadian Writers’ Summit.

    The league also announced the winner of this year's Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award: acclaimed multi-dimensional poet RC Weslowski.

    The League said this of Weslowski: "We are pleased to honor RC Weslowski of Vancouver, BC for his influence and impact on spoken word in Canada. He is a multi-talented performer who loves to walk between worlds to see what the ghost dragged in. RC wears many masks including poet, clown, storyteller, playwright, broadcaster, voice actor, coach and educator. Over the past 15 years he has toured North America, the United Kingdom and parts of Europe including many spoken word, poetry and music festivals."

    This $1000.00 annual award was created by Sheri-D Wilson — a pioneer of spoken word poetry in Canada — to honour a Canadian spoken word artist who has made a substantial contribution to the development of spoken word, through the originality and excellence of his or her own writing/performance works, and through involvement in — and contributions to — the expansion of the spoken word community. The Golden Beret Award was first presented at the Calgary International Spoken Word Festival in 2007. This year marks the 10th anniversary of this prestigious award.

    Previous Recipients of the award are: 2015 - Penn Kemp (London, Ontario), 2014 - bill bissett (Toronto, Ontario), 2013 – Tanya Evanson (Vancouver, BC); 2012 - Kirk Miles (Calgary, AB); 2011 - Ian Ferrier (Montreal, QC); 2010 – Wendy Morton (Victoria, BC); 2009 – Lillian Allen (Toronto, ON); 2008 – Sarah Murphy (Calgary, AB); 2007 – Murdoch Burnett (Comox, BC).

    The 2016 jury consisted of Penn Kemp, Ian Ferrier and Sheri-D Wilson.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad