Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Robin Blaser and John Ashbery Win the Griffin Poetry Prize

Share |

On June 4, the winners of the eighth annual Griffin Poetry Prize were announced. Robin Blaser's The Holy Forest: Collected Poems of Robin Blaser (University of California Press) won the award for Canadian poetry. John Ashbery's Notes From the Air: Selected Later Poem (HarperCollins Publishers/Ecco) won the award for international poetry. The judges for this year's award were George Bowering, James Lasdun and Pura López Colomé. According to The Griffin Trust press release, the judges "read an unprecedented 509 books of poetry, including 19 translations, received from 31 countries around the globe. In addition, they selected poems from the shortlist to compile The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology: A Selection of the 2008 Shortlist, edited by George Bowering and published by House of Anansi Press."

Read more about the Griffin Awards at The Griffin Trust website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad