Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Toronto Book Award 2012 Winner Announced!

Share |
Toronto Public Library

Last night, the winner of the 2012 Toronto Book Award was announced at a special ceremony at the Toronto Reference Library's Bram and Bluma Appel Salon. Andrew J. Borkowski takes the prize for his collection of short stories, Copernicus Avenue.

Councillor Gary Crawford offered his congratulations to Andrew Borkowski. "In his collection of short stories, [he] takes us into the heart of Toronto's Polish community and gives us a unique insight into the diversity that makes up our great city." He added that "All of these shortlisted authors have given us exceptional books that evoke Toronto, and they can be very proud of their work."

The awards committee was made up of Michael Booth, Julia Chan, Tina Edan, Diane Spivak and Kristine Thornley as chair. Each finalist selected is awarded $1,000 and Andrew Borkowsky will receive an additional $10,000. The 2012 awards mark the 28th anniversary. Read more about them and what the committee had to say about the books at the official website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad