Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Winners Announced for CBC Literary Awards

Share |

This morning, Shelagh Rogers announced the winners of the 2009 CBC Literary Awards on CBC Radio One's Q. The English-language winners were chosen from 80 finalists, who were chosen from 6,000 submissions. The winning entries will be in Air Canada's En Route magazine between April and September.

Winners of the CBC Literary Award

Creative Nonfiction category
First prize: Marian Botsford Fraser (Toronto, ON) for The Rise
Second prize: Sarah de Leeuw (Prince George, BC) for Quick-quick. Slow. Slow.

Poetry category
First prize: Michael Langton (Vancouver, BC) for Us unclean
Second prize: Tanis Rideout (Kingston, ON) for Arguments with the Lake (

Short Story category
First prize (The Bob Weaver Fiction Prize): Donald Ward (Saskatoon, SK) for Badger
Second prize: Elissa Vann Struth (Vancouver, BC) for Down to the Roots

To read the winners' bios and judges' comments, go to the CBC Literary Awards website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad