Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Video of the Week: The Journey Prize Celebrates 25 Years of Fantastic Short Fiction!

Share |

For 25 years, The Journey Prize Stories (McClelland & Stewart) has collected the best of the best in Canadian short fiction. The collection is created each year when literary magazines submit their favourite stories published in the previous year. From there, a jury of writers selects the best pieces for inclusion in the anthology, then further whittling down to three stories, finalists for the prize.

This year, those talented folks are Doretta Lau for “How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun?” (published by Event), Eliza Robertson for “My Sister Sang” (published by Grain Magazine) and Naben Ruthnum for “Cinema Rex” (published by The Malahat Review).

The Journey Prize is also funded uniquely: the annual purse comes from a fund established by the late James A. Michener from the Canadian royalties of his novel Journey.

This year during IFOA (the International Festival of Authors), one of the main events was a celebration of the prize's 25th anniversary. Hosted by Booker Prize winner Yann Martel, the event boasted a who's who of past winners, judged and nominees for the prize: Lisa Moore, Alyssa York, Alistair McLeod, Steven Galloway, Miranda Hill, Elizabeth Hay and Pasha Malla.

Check out this video, created by McClelland & Stewart Senior Editor and Associate Publisher Anita Chong for a peek into the Journey Prize's proud history.

The 2013 Journey Prize winner will be announced on November 20 at the Writers' Trust Annual awards event. Stay tuned to Open Book for announcements about all Writers' Trust Award winners!

Song credit: “Kopeika” by The Agency of Missing Hearts from et_, courtesy of the Free Music Archive.